HMP_ChakraWhenever dynamic energies meet together in nature, spinning circular patterns or vortices will form. On a small scale we see this in the tiny spiral eddies found on the surfaces of streams and rivers, on a larger scale in the movements of cloud systems that create cyclones. Similar vortices can be found within the human body, surrounding its energy centers.

These seven to ten energy centers have been recognized by a number of indigenous people representing different spiritual traditions throughout the world. In Native American culture these centers are known as the seven spirit energy centers; Kaballah incorporates them into the Tree of Life; the Hawaiians call them auw centers; and in Taoist Chinese tradition the dantien. The word chakra (pronounced sha-kra), used in many eastern religions to describe these energy centers, now common usage in the U.S., means in Sanskrit, wheel, vortex, or disk.

The chakras are the body’s primary location for perceiving vibrations that are attuned to the larger energies in the universe. These vibrations reside in our auras, an etheric matrix or bio-magnetic sheath that surrounds the physical body. Our thoughts, feelings, and actions are prone to the influence of these auras. The chakras, then, become the guideposts of our inner natures, letting us know whether or not we are operating in harmony with both our bodies and the world around us.

The physical manifestation of our chakras is located in both the central nervous system and the endocrine system which run along the spinal cord. These systems are composed of the major nerve ganglia, neural plexi, and glands that branch forth from the spinal column.  This system serves as the basis for the meridians and energy points used in acupuncture, yoga practice, and energy healing.

Since the 1970’s the seven chakras have become particularly associated with the seven rainbow colors, each chakra having its own color. Each also correlates to particular crystals/gemstones, sounds, body functions, levels of consciousness, archetypal elements, developmental stages of life, and much more. Numerous systems exist to describe these correlations, with none being right or wrong. Described below are some of the correlations I use, but if any don’t feel right, use whatever works for you.

Chakra energy centers

Crown Chakra

Location: Center of the top of the head
Relates to: Transcendence, spirituality, cosmic energy, connecting to the universal consciousness
Governs: Pineal gland, upper portion of brain
Represents: beyond the elements and physical senses
Clear/White Gemstones: Clear Quartz, Snow Quartz, Grey Quartz, Tourmalinated Quartz, Moonstone

Third Eye or Brow Chakra

Location: Between the eyes, just above the eyebrows
Relates to: Telepathic energy, sixth sense, higher intuition/psychic powers, insight, intuition, clairvoyance, higher consciousness
Governs: Pituitary gland, sinus, thalamus, eyes, “third eye”
Represents: beyond the elements and physical senses
Violet/Purple Gemstones: Amethyst, Chevron Amethyst, Fluorite, Lilac Quartz

Throat Chakra

Location: Voice box
Relates to: Communication, self-expression, creativity, responsibility – the point where things become manifest and naming takes place
Governs: Nose, ears, mouth, throat, vocal chords, thyroid, voice
Represents: ether, hearing
Blue Gemstones: Lapis Lazuli, Sodalite, Blue Aventurine, Turquoise

Heart Chakra

Location: Center of chest, directly over the heart
Relates to: Love, compassion, personal freedom, surrender, forgiveness, manifestation, spiritual essence
Governs: Heart, thymus, blood, circulatory system, chest area, lungs, breath
Represents: air, touch
Green Gemstones: Green Aventurine, Malachite, Russian Amazonite, Serpentine, Moss Agate, Green Fluorite
Other Gemstones: Rose Quartz

Solar Plexus Chakra

Location: Slightly up from navel, just below the center of the rib cage
Relates to: Personal power/fulfillment, will, confidence, mental issues
Governs: Stomach, liver, gall bladder, spleen, pancreas, digestive system, nervous system
Represents: fire, sight
Yellow Gemstones: Aragonite, Picture Jasper, Tiger Eye, Lemon Chrysoprase, Calcite, Cream Quartz, Yellow Turquoise

Sacral Chakra

Location: Slightly above genital area below navel
Relates to: Appetite, creativity/sexual expression, intimacy, emotional issues, immune system center
Governs: Reproductive organs, pelvic area, kidneys, bladder, all bodily liquids
Represents: water, taste
Orange Gemstones: Red Aventurine, Amber, Red Agate, Sunstone

Root or Base Chakra

Location: At the base of the spine, between genitals and anus
Relates to: Energy and vitality, survival, sexuality, passion, lust, money, career, safety, strength
Governs: Spinal column, bones, teeth, blood, adrenal gland
Represents: earth, smell
Red Gemstones: Red Jasper, Flaky/Brecciated Jasper, Red Sesame Jasper, Garnet, Ruby
Other Gemstones: Black Tourmaline

Rainbow Chakra Jewelry

Chakra Meditation Wands

Reiki Chakra Healing

Add a Comment